“Crack A Smile, Cut Your Mouth, and Drown In Alcohol”

Jesus was in my stereo
I had a sharp suit on
I practiced my handshake with the congregation
My posture was straight as I led them in prayer

The desire to be embraced by the out
Was too much to resist
The seal broke and I bled
My dehydrated soul shriveled as I stubbornly shivered

Though there was a knock
I had my back was turned to the door
Living out my sickness at top speed
Only finding relief in short spells followed by hangovers

Then my impostor world ruptured
Revealing the chasm that used to be a soul
Yearning to be filled
Finally satisfied by a flood of Grace

“In his brokenness, the repentant prodigal knew an intimacy with his father that his sinless, self-righteous brother would never know.” (Brennan Manning, The Ragamuffin Gospel, Pp.181)

Leave a Reply

