Whats Love Got To Do With It?

When I decided that I would write this piece on the idea of love, my first inclination was to emphasize the contrast between biblical love as defined in 1Corinthians 13:1-13, and love as defined by the world in romance stories, television commercials, and pop radio songs. While such a juxtaposition really is worthwhile, one that I believe is less worn and more necessary focuses the action of love.

Love becomes more than a stretched-thin combination of vowels and consonants when it is treated as a verb and lived out. I can tell my wife that I love her, but, it means a lot more to her when I make it a point to spend time with her in the evening instead of sitting in another room squandering my time away on the computer. Likewise, singing the Beatles song “All You Need Is Love,” while being a fine and enjoyable thing to do, is wholly insignificant compared to taking advantage of the daily opportunities that we all have to affirm and support somebody else through a kind word, an open ear, or a lent hand.

God defines Love as sacrifice for others. Sacrifice means putting the needs of others before our own.

What do you love? Who do you love? Whose needs do you place before your own? Who are you willing to die for? Family? Friends? Neighbors?

Who is your neighbor?

30Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’ 31The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’There is no commandment greater than these.”
Mark 12:30-32
12My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. 13Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. 14You are my friends if you do what I command.
John 15:12-14
3 responses to “Whats Love Got To Do With It?

  1. i live love and it makes me think of my beautiful love muffin, Dezzy. As for the comment about love from Kurek, I think it is strange that God is full of so much love but will allow such fighting and hate to take place. Churches are also silly. Why dont we have places of Love…. we can call them co-existence catherdals for people of all colours and religions.
    Praise Allah!

    RESPONSE: That was the plan. God never intended for us to experience this pain, but, choices made in the beginning days of human existence on this earth brought pain into human life as a daily reality. Forced love in the absence of choice isn’t love at all. God gave humanity a choice. Humanity made a choice. We’re now living in the consequences of that choice. But, we have the opportunity to claim God’s grace for a peace that is real and never-ending. But, the real issue here, I think, is taking an honest look at the choices that each of us make everyday and the consequences of them. Whether intentional or not, and whether recognized or not, each of us causes problems and pain for others every day.

  2. This is an awesome post.. actually this is an awesome blog. The words in this post were a little piercing, since I’m in the corner of my house with my laptop and my family is in the other room.

    Love is a verb……..

    Thank you for reminding me..

Leave a Reply

