No Matter

Though unseen by the casual
Observer
The tether of reality
Tightens its
Grip more on a lone anxious hope
Leaving less
Room to breathe ‘tween blanket and sheet
Unsettled
I recite words sincere to You
Desperate
For a few minutes of sound sleep
Praying still
For enough passion to steady
My gaze on
Just the ground lit by the lamp
At my feet
So that I may at last throw this
Gauntlet down
Knowing that just this lack of strength
Is the key
To ensuring Your victory
Over the
Burden of my arrogance
Set me free

Leave a Reply

