“…He Went Down To The Rock And Stayed…”

“Saul and his men began the search, and when David was told about it, he went down to the rock and stayed in the Desert of Maon.”

For all of the years that I’ve called myself a Christian, my experience with and understanding of the Old Testament is disproportionately thin. Now, as I read through books like Nehemiah and 1 Samuel, I’m finding so many events, ideas, and people that I can relate to. 1 Samuel 23 documents King Saul’s pursuit of David in order to kill him and details the planning and coordinating that was invested on Saul’s part and the part of the Ziphites. Likewise, the chapter describes the pains David took with his men in order to evade Saul and his troops. Time and energy spent hunting, searching, closing in, evading, fleeing, and praying – all coming down to the point when:

Saul was going along one side of the mountain and David and his men were on the other side, hurrying to get away from Saul. As saul and his forces were closing in on David and his men to capture them, a messenger came to Saul saying, “Come quickly! The Philistines are raiding the land!” Then Saul broke off his pursuit of David and went to meet the Philistines. That is why they call this place Sela Hammahlekoth (rock of parting). And David went up from there and lived in the strongholds of En Gedi.
-1 Samuel 23:26-29

David had sought God’s guidance all along the way leading up to this moment where they were about to converge with Saul’s army at the mountain and David trusted God throughout every moment of anxiety and every juncture that required a change of plans. I’ve yet to finish reading the rest of David’s story, but, from what I’ve heard, he went on to be a fairly notable character in God’s story.

The notion that I’ve had on a loop in my head for some time now, by His grace: Regardless of the circumstances at any given point and time, I trust you God.

The verses I’ve clung to since being in the darkest part of my Dad’s decline, the darkest period of my life:

“He reached down from on high and took hold of me;he drew me out of deep waters. He rescued me from my powerful enemy, from my foes, who were too strong for me. They confronted me in the day of my disaster, but the Lord was my support. He brought me out into a spacious place; he rescued me because he delighted in me.”
-Psalms 18:16-19

Amen.

One response to ““…He Went Down To The Rock And Stayed…”

Leave a Reply

