A Note On Integrity: “4 Reasons Christians Need to Quit Sharing Hoaxes”

I came across a blog article posted on a friend’s Facebook page today, read it, and realized its implications for my life fairly quickly( read the article at: 4 Reasons Christians Need to Quit Sharing Hoaxes). Its been easy for me, at different times and in different scenarios in my life, to lose touch with the direct connection that we all have the opportunity to make with those around us who are in need. It’s easy to sit back, offer up an obligatory prayer when reading about somebody’s loss, click the ‘like’ and ‘share’ icons when we read something emotionally compelling, or, worse yet, just keep scrolling. But, as this article suggests, as Christians, I could stand to be a bit more thoughtful about exactly what I’m reading, what I’m sharing and, most importantly, what I’m doing to help those within my reach, and then beyond, to know the love, hope, and peace that I know. Tonight I will pray that I can wake up in the morning, make an intentional decision to seek out Christ in others around me, and not take for granted the opportunities afforded to me to engage with them in a manner that is uncharacteristically selfless.

“When a disciple’s every response, word, and decision is motivated by compassion, he has put on Christ and walks in the way of integrity.”  -Brennan manning

“God is no fonder of intellectual slackers than of any other slackers. If you are thinking of becoming a Christian, I warn you, you are embarking on something which is going to take the whole of you, brains and all.”  -C.S. Lewis

“The integrity of the upright guides them, but the unfaithful are destroyed by their duplicity.”  -Proverbs 11:3

One thought on “A Note On Integrity: “4 Reasons Christians Need to Quit Sharing Hoaxes”

Leave a comment